Star Trek: Strange New Worlds Writing Contest

Announcing the Winners!

Pocket Books, publisher of Star Trek™ books is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Star Trek™: Strange New Worlds writing contest.  Brought back to honor the 50th Anniversary of Star Trek™, the contest has its roots in the original Star Trek™: Strange New Worlds anthology first published in 1998.

An annual collection of short stories set in the Star Trek™ universe, Strange New Worlds was written by amateur writers chosen through an open submissions process.  The anthologies were successfully published until 2007 and launched the careers of numerous writers including  Dayton Ward, Ilsa J. Bick, William Leisner, Scott Pearson, and Geoffrey Thorne.   


StrangeNewWorlds 2

StrangeNewWorlds 3


The 10 Grand Prize winners, chosen from hundreds of submissions, will each receive a $1000 advance and will have their stories included in the all-new Star Trek™: Strange New Worlds 2016 Edition Anthology, to be published in digital first format this year. 

The Grand Prize winners are:

Neil Bryant
Dilithium Is a Girl's Best Friend

Gary Piserchio & Frank Tagader
A Christmas Qarol

Kelli Fitzpatrick
The Sunwalkers

Chris Chaplin
The Seen and Unseen

Michael Turner
The Façade of Fate

Nancy Debretsion
The Manhunt Pool

Derek Tyler Attico
The Dreamer and the Dream

Roger McCoy
The Last Refuge

John Coffren
Life Among the Post-Industrial Barbarians

Kristen McQuinn
Upon the Brink of Remembrance

The two First Prize winners, Kerry F. Booth and James Corrigan, will each receive a free publishing package from Archway Publishing valued at approximately $5,000 to publish a book on a subject other than Star Trek™

Thanks to all who entered!